Hossein Ronaghi Maleki’s letter to Arash Sadeghi; Your resistance and camaraderie have been proven to me-end your hunger strike

Kaleme –  Seyed Hossein Ronaghi Maleki, imprisoned blogger who launched a hunger strike on May 26, 2012 in protest of his mistreatment and interference by the IRGC and the Intelligence Agency in his case, preventing the upholding of the law and legal procedures, blocking judicial independence, impeding the rights of political prisoners and their families, wrote a letter to his friend imprisoned student Arash Sadeghi, who is being held behind bars in Ward 209 of Evin prison.

According to Kalame, imprisoned student activist Arash Sadeghi launched a hunger strike several days ago in support of his friend Hossein Ronaghi Maleki. Arash Sadeghi was able to visit briefly with his grandfather after 4 months of no visitations while being held in solitary confinement. Arash revealed that during this time, he was interrogated every 3 weeks.

Arash Sadeghi, a student activist from Allameh Tabatabai University was first arrested after the contested presidential elections of 09, on July 9th, and released after enduring 50 days in solitary confinement. He was arrested again on December 09 following the Ashura protests and released on March 6, 2010.

Branches 28 and 26 of Tehran’s Revolutionary Court sentenced Arash Sadeghi to 3 and 6 years respectively. The appellate court reduced the total to one year behind bars plus a 4 year suspended sentence. This student was released after enduring 18 months behind bars even though the court had issued him a one-year sentence.

Last winter while he was visiting the grave of his mother with his grandfather and grandmother, Arash was again arrested. His mother had passed away at her home due to the shock and stress inflicted by security agents.

Following is the text of the letter from Hossein to Arash, as obtained by Kaleme.

Oh breeze, I cannot go to my beloved’s house

You will go there, go safely and send my regards

[by the poet Saeedi]

Dear Arash,

The moment my mother and father told me you have launched a hunger strike in support of your friend I felt both joy and sorrow! I was happy to see you so steadfast and strong by my side. I was sad to know that despite your own dire physical condition, you have launched a hunger strike. You know well that I can never forget your strength, your patience, your talent, your honesty and your gentle soul.

My dear brother!

I know what they did to you after you were arrested on July 9, 2009 by the IRGC and transferred to Eshrat Abad. I know the severe torture you were put under. I know you were arrested again after Ashoura ’88 [Dec ‘09]. I know how the evil ones tormented you and tortured you. Your wounded bruised body and your blackened eyes were the outcome of this Karbala event. I know that today you are standing tall in the solitary confinement of the unjust abusers, and you are enduring great torture and hardship. But you are never humiliated, you hold your head high, and you do not give in to tyranny, so everyone can learn true freedom and resistance from you. I cannot imagine the pain of loosing a mother due to the onslaught of the puppet dictatorship, but you know this suffering too well and you have felt the deep anguish.

My steady comrade!

We live in times when the worth of human beings is completely gone and has been replaced by unjust deeds. These are times when tyrants are attacking freedom fighters and their principles. We must get rid of this darkness with our patience, our stability, and our resistance so that we can shine a light and replace oppression with justice. You know that even before this act of brotherhood, I have well known your steadfast deliverance and integrity.

For this reason I am asking you to put an end to your hunger strike.

This is the request of your friend and your comrade. I hope that you will reach this conclusion, my brother. I hope these dark tormentors know that “sometimes a force can burn a life, and sometimes a sigh can break the tyrant’s back.”

[by the poet Rahim Moeni Kermanshahi].

Kaleme

http://www.kaleme.com/1391/03/10/klm-102148/

Hossein Ronaghi, Arash Sadeghi

About lalehsr

Committee of Human Rights Reporters (CHRR) http://chrr.biz View all posts by lalehsr

One response to “Hossein Ronaghi Maleki’s letter to Arash Sadeghi; Your resistance and camaraderie have been proven to me-end your hunger strike

Leave a Reply

